Are you a small organization animal? Another one bites the dust!

Posted on Saturday, October 18, 2008

0


I was reading an interesting post on the how the MySQL founder, David Axmark, has decided to quit Sun because he cannot live up with the whims and fancies of a larger organization.

This is what he had to say

I have thought about my role at Sun and decided that I am better off in smaller organizations. I HATE all the rules that I need to follow, and I also HATE breaking them. It would be far better for me to ‘retire’ from employment and work with MySQL and Sun on a less formal basis.

I too have been a victim of such moves in the past and keep coming back to smaller organizations. Just wondering, what is so different in a smaller organization which keeps us motivated, involved, tied together, give us work satisfaction and a work life balance.

The larger organizations would have to start thinking on these lines, but then, on the flip side, if is was all there in larger organizations then there would be no MySQL.

Posted in: Business, General